Cinque Terre Italy

Cinque Terre, the five towns, is a string of five ancient fishing villages perched high on the Italian Riviera just south of Genoa in northwest Italy. The tiny villages were until recently linked only by mule tracks and accessible only by rail or water.

Cinque Terre Riomaggiore Italy

The best way to explore the five villages is to hike along this scenic coastline. You can also take the train or the ferry boat from one village to the next.

Monterosso is the largest of the Cinque Terre villages. Here you will find a long beach promenade with cafes, gelato stores and restaurants.
The town has several beaches, both private and public ones, and beach-lovers should definitely stay here. This is the only flat village offering a wide range of hotels and lovely Airbnbs near the beach.

Vernazza is one of the most popular of the five villages. The tiny harbor is surrounded by colorful typical Ligurian houses and the charming piazza is lined with good restaurants and bars.
There are only a couple of small hotels and some really romantic Airbnbs and Guest Houses in the center of the village with amazing views over the main square and the pictureque harbour.

Vernazza, Cinque Terre

Corniglia, in the heart of Cinque Terre, is ideal for hikers and nature lovers. Situated on a promontory overlooking the sea and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. For those who are looking for a quiet place to stay in Cinque Terre, Corniglia is the right place. There are a few high-quality hotels in Corniglia, all with amazing sea views.

Manarola is one of the most picturesque villages with its tiny harbor filled with colorful boats, a perfect place for sunbathing and cliff jumping. You can get the perfect shot of this gorgeous village by simply walking down past the harbor and along the rocky coastal path. There are some really nice Airbnbs in Manarola with a relaxing atmosphere and spectacular sea views.

Riomaggiore is one of the most scenic places in Cinque Terre with its lovely harbor and amazing atmosphere. It’s best enjoyed at sunset as the fading lights casts a beautiful orange glow over the buildings. We recommend Riomaggiore to young travelers or couples looking for a romantic place to stay. Near the small picturesque harbor you will find several Airbnbs with fantastic sea views in Riomaggiore.

Here below some detailed information about all five Cinque Terre villages. Click on the images to explore more!